Lilly Pulizter; Dead on Twitter

Hi all!

I have been remiss in my posting as of late, but something happened to me today that shocked me into posting. A beloved designer of mine, Lilly Pulitzer, has died. I love her brand and was very sadden to hear the vision behind those colorful prints was gone.

Image

But, what shocked me the most was that I found out about this death on Twitter. Now, I have found out about significant breaking news on Twitter before. This, however, was one of the first deaths I have experienced through social media.

There is always a little bit of doubt when you first find out that someone you “know” has died from Twitter. I say “know” in quotations marks because I didn’t really know Lilly Pulitzer the person. But, you can never really be sure when you hear someone has died on social media because there is no credible source. Usually, it is someone in your news feed and then you have to get the news confirmed from a credible handle like @cnnbrk or @CNBC. So, until it is confirmed, you are in this weird limbo where you also want to tell people about it but you aren’t sure it is true. It’s not until an official tweet comes from @AP, the Associated Press, that you can know the truth.

I’m not sure if this happens with other sorts of breaking news, but I have just become very wary of what I read in my news feed.

Does this make Twitter less credible? Have you has similar experiences? As always I would love to hear your questions or comments and feel free to tweet at me @Amelia_Power

Image

RIP Lilly Pulitzer

-Mia

4 thoughts on “Lilly Pulizter; Dead on Twitter

  1. I agree that nowadays, we get our news from social media. For instance when Whitney Houston passed away, people’s Facebook and Twitter feeds were probably abuzz with the news. Also for the Kony 2012 campaign, which went viral because so many people shared it to their social media streams. Nice insights and thoughtful post.

    • Thanks for the post! And yeah, I think when Whitney Houston passed away it was online within 4 minutes of her dying because a maid walked into the room and found the body and then called her sister about it. So crazy to think of how digital our world is.

  2. Hello Mia,

    I have to completely agree with you in that Twitter “news” can be very weary sometimes. I personally do not trust everything that is tweeted unless it is from a credible source, which if you think about it, isn’t that terrible? The fact that people have become skeptical of everything they hear on the internet these days. On April fools day, I know I read some crazy tweets that ended up not being true because they were a joke. But, the thing was that they were not exactly things to joke about. So i feel for these reasons that yes Twitter is not a completely credible source. Thanks for the interesting post!

  3. Hello Mia,

    I have to completely agree with you in that Twitter “news” can be very weary sometimes. I personally do not trust everything that is tweeted unless it is from a credible source, which if you think about it, isn’t that terrible? The fact that people have become skeptical of everything they hear on the internet these days. On April fools day, I know I read some crazy tweets that ended up not being true because they were a joke. But, the thing was that they were not exactly things to joke about. So i feel for these reasons that yes Twitter is not a completely credible source.
    Thanks for the interesting post!

Leave a Reply

